The 27th edition of the Ghana Journalists Association (GJA) Awards took place on Sunday, October 29th at the Accra International Conference Centre. This year’s awards were themed “Leveraging Media Freedom to Sustain the Democratic and Security Architecture: The Litmus Test of Election 2024,” and featured Jean Mensa, the Chairperson of the Electoral Commission, as the guest speaker.

Nominees competed in 34 categories, with the top honor, Journalist of the Year, awarded to Erastus Asare Donkor from Multimedia Group. Mr. Asare Donkor, who also won the Best Reporter on Illegal Mining award, impressed with his exceptional reports and documentaries on ‘galamsey’ and its impact on the country’s resources. The GJA Awards Committee received 276 entries, including 15 from student journalists.

READ ALSO:  Ghana Can Only Win 2023 AfCON If Ghanaians Begin To Show Support - GFA President Asserts

Notably, four categories, including Sports, photo journalism, online news, and radio documentary, did not produce winners. The Multimedia Group achieved multiple awards on the night, further cementing their success.

Below is the full list of award winners:

27th GJA Awards selected winners

  1. Anthony Adongo Apubeo (GNA) – Education
  2. Beatrice Senadju (GBC) – Health
  3. Della Russel Ocloo (Daily Graphic) – Agric & food security
  4. Vivian Adu (Atinka Media) – Gender
  5. Newsfile (Joy FM) – Radio Programme (English)
  6. Fred Duhoe (CitiTV) – News (Television)
  7. Akua Oforiwa Darko (GBC) – Environment & Science
  8. Gifty Adjei (GBC) – Features (TV)
  9. Alberto Mario Noretti (The Mirror) – News (Print)
  10. Seth Bokpe (The Fourth Estate) – Democracy and Good Governance
  11. Emma Davies (MultiMedia Group) – Business/economics
  12. Mohammed Fugu (Daily Graphic) – Domestic Tourism
  13. Kweku Bolton (GBC) – Arts & Entertainment
  14. Francisca Enchill (Joynews, Freelance) – Investigative Journalist
  15. Edward Adeti (The Fourth Estate/Media without Borders) – Crime/Court
  16. Erastus Asare Donkor (Multimedia Group) – Illegal Mining (TV)
  17. Emmanuel Dzivenu (Joy Prime) – Disability
  18. Eric Mensah-Ayettey (Myjoyonline) – Columnist
  19. Efia Akese (The Mirror) – Features (Print)
  20. Kester Aburam Korankye (Daily Graphic) – Road safety
  21. Daily Graphic – Newspaper layout
  22. Efisem (Atinka Media) – Radio Programme (Gh Language)
  23. Ridwan Karim Dini-Osman (EIB network) – Feature (Radio)
  24. Felix Dela Klutse (Pent Media Centre) – Features (online)
  25. Neta Kris Abiana Parsram (Multimedia Group) – Most promising journalist
  26. Doreen Ampofo (GBC) – Documentary (Radio)
  27. Godwin Asediba (Media General) – Documentary (TV)
  28. Collincia Ayifa (via Multimedia Group) – Student journalist (UCC)
  29. Critical Issues – UTV (TV Programme, Gh Language)
  30. Media General – TV Programme (English)
  31. P.A.V Ansah Journalist of the year, 2022 – Erastus Asare Donkor (Multimedia Group)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here