The black stars of Ghana will be playing with Morocco in this year’s African cup of nations 2022.

AFCON 2021: Ghana Faces Morocco In Opening Group Game
AFCON 2021: Ghana Faces Morocco In Opening Group Game

AFCON 2021 began on the 9th January 2022 with the host nation Cameroon beating Burkina Faso in 2-1 in the opener of the AFCON 2022.

Ghana is hoping for a fifth AFCON title and their first since 1982, however Morocco is also hoping for a second continental triumph after last winning it in 1976, when they beat Guinea in the final.

Ghana last won an AFCON in 1982, after beating Libya with penalties. However Ghana have qualified to three different finals but did not win any.

READ ALSO:  Chelsea vs Crystal Palace: Tuchel names player to feature in EPL clash

AFCON 2021 Groups

Games will be played in six venues in the West African nation: Yaounde: Olembe Stadium and Stade Ahmadou Ahido, in Douala’s Japoma Stadium. Below are the AFCON 2021 Groups;

  • Group A: Cameroon (hosts), Burkina Faso, Cape Verde Islands, Ethiopia 
  • Group B: Guinea, Malawi, Senegal, Zimbabwe 
  • Group C: Comoros Island, Gabon, Ghana, Morocco 
  • Group D: Egypt, Guinea Bissau, Nigeria, Sudan 
  • Group E: Algeria, Equatorial Guinea, Ivory Coast, Sierra Leone 
  • Group F: Gambia, Mali, Mauritania, Tunisia
READ ALSO:  Ghanaian media in Abidjan didn't go in to attack anyone — Saddick Adams

AFCON 2021: Group A:

Teams: Cameroon, Burkina Faso, Cape Verde & Ethiopia


9 January: Cameroon-Burkina Faso (11:00)* (all times ET)

9 January: Ethiopia-Cape Verde (14:00)

13 January: Cameroon-Ethiopia (11:00)

13 January: Cape Verde-Burkina Faso (14:00)

17 January: Cape Verde-Cameroon (11:00)

17 January: Burkina Faso-Ethiopia (11:00)

Group B:

Teams: Senegal, Guinea, Zimbabwe, Malawi


10 January: Senegal-Zimbabwe (08:00)

10 January: Guinea-Malawi (11:00)

14 January: Senegal-Guinea (08:00)

14 January: Malawi-Zimbabwe (14:00)

READ ALSO:  First Ghanaian couples to Wed at the Renowned Moana Gardens in Hawaii

18 January: Malawi-Senegal (11:00)

18 January: Zimbabwe-Guinea (11:00)

Group C:

Teams: Morocco, Ghana, Gabon, Comoros


10 January: Morocco-Ghana (11:00)

10 January: Comoros-Gabon (14:00)

14 January: Morocco-Comoros (11:00)

14 January: Ghana-Gabon (14:00)

18 January: Gabon-Morocco (14:00)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here